Told to send my final offer ‘request for a review’ to an empty building…

by More Street Cleaning and less Social Cleansing, please

‘Cos I turned down my final direct offer of rehousing a few days ago (http://wp.me/p3uiFC-6i), I had to write and say I wanted a ‘review of the suitability’ of the property.  I wrote my letter out and, following the instructions in the final offer letter from Lambeth, my friend took it along to 2-7 Town Hall Parade in Brixton, to hand it in and get it receipted for (well, you never know whether mail will actually reach anyone at Lambeth, do you?).  Oh dear, the offices at that address were empty, and had been for a while, from the look of things.  She trooped along to the Town Hall, they said sorry, not here, try Hambrook House. Hambrook House said sorry, not here. Then they said it couldn’t be personally handed over to Charlie Conyers anyway, he’s in Blue Star House and it’s not open to the public, so go to Olive Morris House, hand it in there but you may have to join a queue…

So, the letter I received less than a week ago, told me to send my (very important, seeing as I might end up homeless) request for a review, to an empty office building.   Could Lambeth Housing at least supply the correct info, please?

The (out of the blue) letter informing me of the final offer was written on 24th May, posted out to me 5 days later on the 29th May, received in the afternoon of Friday 31st May detailing a 10am appointment on Monday 3rd June. Why did it take 5 days to put the already written letter in the post?

And, completely different subject, but I think I might as well chuck it in:  how did the parking fine that one of my friends paid last month (over the counter at Gracefield Gardens), totally disappear from the council’s records? She got one of those mega-inflated fines a few days ago, because there’s no record of her payment (by card) last month… whose bank account did it end up in then? It certainly got taken out of her account.  Gracefield Gardens don’t accept cash payments, presumably because of the possibility that the money might get nicked by staff. Maybe they shouldn’t take card payments either?

Ahh, the incompetence of Lambeth council knows no bounds…

